Texas License to Carry (Bonus)

Texas License to Carry (Bonus)

Texas License to Carry (Bonus)

Texas License to Carry (Bonus)

Texas License to Carry (Bonus) Class Info

The License to Carry (TX LTC) BONUS class is a “more in-depth value” alternative class to the License to Carry main course.
The Bonus class is taught by multiple instructors and adds in extra range time and video simulator training. The video simulator training is designed to show you what an actual firearms encounter would feel like.

What's the process?

The State of TX has progressed a lot since it passed it’s first concealed handgun license bill on September 1, 1995. George W Bush passed it in the 74th legislature as one of his campaign promises fulfilled.

The nation’s violence continues and as such, our response continues. As proud Texans we believe in the powerful words, “I would rather die on my feet, than live on my knees.” On January 1, 2016 open carry was passed and then on March 28, 2017 fee reductions passed lowering most person’s out of pocket cost for application from $140 to just $40.

How do you get one? I’m glad you asked. We have certified LTC instructors for the TX LTC program. We will run you through 4 hours of instruction on the program and current laws after which you must pass a 25 questions written test. You will then shoot a proficiency with a firearm. You must score at least 70% on both tests to receive your CHL100 form. This is a form needed to attain your LTC license.

Your paperwork is good for 2 years so you can take our course at 19, but you must be 21 at the time you apply.

Applications are at https://txapps.texas.gov/txapp/txdps/ltc/.

You must posses a valid State ID at the time of the class and bring it to class with you. You will be asked to go to a FAST (https://www.identogo.com/location) for electronic fingerprints after you apply. You should take your online application receipt with you to that appointment. You must pass an FBI background check. Once all of this is completed, you will receive your license in the mail.

The cost of this class is $100

and we will provide your targets, range fees, eye and ear protection and all testing materials. You only need your gun and 100 rounds.

Standard course of fire for LTC qualification:

Distance 1: Twenty shots (20) fired from 3 yards.

    • A. Five (5) shots fired in a “One Shot Exercise” 2 seconds allowed for each shot.
    • B. Ten shots (10) fired in a “Two Shot Exercise” 3 seconds allowed for each two shot sequence.
    • C. Five (5) shots fired in 10 seconds

Distance 2: Twenty shots (20) fired from 7 yards.

    • A. Five (5) shots will be fired in 10 seconds
    • B. Five (5) shots will be fired in 2 stages: 1. Two (2) shots will be fired in 4 seconds 2. Three (3) shots will be fired in 6 seconds
    • C. Five (5) shots fired in a “One Shot Exercise” 3 seconds allowed for each shot.
    • D. Five (5) shots fired in 15 seconds.

Distance 3: Ten shots (10) fired from 15 yards.

    • A. Five (5) shots fired in two stages: 1. Two (2) shots fired in 6 seconds. 2. Three (3) shots fired in 9 seconds.
    • B. Five (5) shots fired in 15 seconds.

Class Info

The License to Carry (TX LTC) BONUS class is a “more in-depth value” alternative class to the License to Carry main course.
The Bonus class is taught by multiple instructors and adds in extra range time and video simulator training. The video simulator training is designed to show you what an actual firearms encounter would feel like.

What's the process?

The State of TX has progressed a lot since it passed it’s first concealed handgun license bill on September 1, 1995. George W Bush passed it in the 74th legislature as one of his campaign promises fulfilled.

The nation’s violence continues and as such, our response continues. As proud Texans we believe in the powerful words, “I would rather die on my feet, than live on my knees.” On January 1, 2016 open carry was passed and then on March 28, 2017 fee reductions passed lowering most person’s out of pocket cost for application from $140 to just $40.

How do you get one? I’m glad you asked. We have certified LTC instructors for the TX LTC program. We will run you through 4 hours of instruction on the program and current laws after which you must pass a 25 questions written test. You will then shoot a proficiency with a firearm. You must score at least 70% on both tests to receive your CHL100 form. This is a form needed to attain your LTC license.

Your paperwork is good for 2 years so you can take our course at 19, but you must be 21 at the time you apply.

Applications are at https://txapps.texas.gov/txapp/txdps/ltc/.

You must posses a valid State ID at the time of the class and bring it to class with you. You will be asked to go to a FAST (https://www.identogo.com/location) for electronic fingerprints after you apply. You should take your online application receipt with you to that appointment. You must pass an FBI background check. Once all of this is completed, you will receive your license in the mail.

The cost of our class is $100

and we will provide your targets, range fees, eye and ear protection and all testing materials. You only need your gun and 100 rounds.

Standard course of fire for LTC qualification:

Distance 1: Twenty shots (20) fired from 3 yards.

    • A. Five (5) shots fired in a “One Shot Exercise” 2 seconds allowed for each shot.
    • B. Ten shots (10) fired in a “Two Shot Exercise” 3 seconds allowed for each two shot sequence.
    • C. Five (5) shots fired in 10 seconds

Distance 2: Twenty shots (20) fired from 7 yards.

    • A. Five (5) shots will be fired in 10 seconds
    • B. Five (5) shots will be fired in 2 stages: 1. Two (2) shots will be fired in 4 seconds 2. Three (3) shots will be fired in 6 seconds
    • C. Five (5) shots fired in a “One Shot Exercise” 3 seconds allowed for each shot.
    • D. Five (5) shots fired in 15 seconds.

Distance 3: Ten shots (10) fired from 15 yards.

    • A. Five (5) shots fired in two stages: 1. Two (2) shots fired in 6 seconds. 2. Three (3) shots fired in 9 seconds.
    • B. Five (5) shots fired in 15 seconds.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much is my fee?

There are many variables that can change your fee. You can see the current fee schedule at

https://www.dps.texas.gov/RSD/LTC/documents/LTCFeeSchedule.pdf

What kind of gun should I bring? What about ammo?

The rules about qualifying with a certain type of pistol (semi-auto vs revolver) no longer exist. The ammo requirements are also open.

We reccommend that you bring the type of gun and ammo that you intend to carry. Call us if you are a new shooter and need advice.

How do I dress for class?

You should wear comfortable weather appropriate clothes. (Like you’d wear to the gym) Avoid open toed shoes or open front shirts or blouses as they can catch the expended brass during the shooting qualifications. Hats are also advised to protect your hair from toxins in the air.

What do I bring to class?

Bring your UNLOADED pistol and 50 rounds of ammunition. Guns will not be used during class until the proficiency qualification. We will provide your eye and ear protection if you don’t have any and supply targets and other testing supplies.

What level of experience do I need to have?

There is no pre-requisite to attend the class. It is also not required that you shoot on the day of class. You can opt to shoot another day. We encourage you to have at least a basic familiarity with your pistol and how it functions. If you need help, we are happy to meet you early before class and teach you.

How long is my license good for?

The license is up for renewal every 5 years. There are no longer continued education classes or renewal qualifications. We very highly recommend that you continue training after you receive your license. As officers who have been involved in numerous shootings, we cannot stress enough how important it is to practice.

Where can I carry?

The class will instruct you on TX carry laws. DO NOT follow rumors or Google searches. You will be able to carry in other States within the US.

https://www.dps.texas.gov/RSD/LTC/Legal/Reciprocity/index.htm is a link to show you up to date agreements and what they mean.

You can see the actual signed agreements and read them yourself.

Can I get my record checked before I attend class?

No. The background is checked at the Federal level and it is against Federal law to run a check on someone without a reason. Your application must be filled out prior to a check being run.

Why can't I just get a cheaper license from a reciprocal State?

If you read the actual agreements, you will find that some States do not honor the license if you do not reside in the State of your handgun license. If you get caught, it could be a Felony.

I can't find the answer I seek

If you still cannot find the answer to your question, you can contact us and we will get you a correct answer as quickly as possible.

Class Registration

Copyright © 2021 Texas Tactical Training. All rights reserved.

United States

CONTACT US!

We welcome you to contact us for more information
about any of our products or services.